• Written for the 1958 Broadway show, Oh Captain! Based on the screenplay, The Captain's Paradise, by Alec Coppel.
  • Opened on Broadway February 4, 1958 at the Alvin Theatre and ran for 192 performances.
  • The original cast included Ronny Randall, Alexandra Danilove, Susan Johnson, Abbe Lane, Jacquelyn McKeever, Edward Platt and Paul Valentine.
  • Tony nominee for Best Musical 1958.

Recording History
Karen Benjamin and Alan Chapman
Abbe Lane
The Leonard Feather and Dick Hyman All Stars
Original Broadway cast, Oh Captain! The Original Cast Album
Eileen Rodgers
Jon Weber, It's Never Quite the Same, Mood Records, MD-1111, 1998